Arson: Criminal Defense You Can Trust
Penalties for Arson
Arson is the act of intentionally setting fire to property—including a structure such as a house or building or someone else’s belongings—which results in partial or complete damage. In Oklahoma, there are four levels or degrees of arson, all of which are considered felonies.
- First-degree arson is a willful and malicious act of burning, setting fire or destroying property by the use of an explosive device, heat-producing device or ignition device. In order to constitute first-degree arson, the property that was set on fire must be a building or structure that was inhabited or occupied by at least one person.
- Second-degree arson involves setting fire to a building or structure that is uninhabited or unoccupied. However, it is important to note that under Oklahoma law, you may still be charged with arson in the first degree if the building is normally used for lodging, even if no one was inside at the time the fire was set.
- Third-degree arson is burning, setting fire to or destroying by explosive device any property valued at $50 or more.
- Fourth-degree arson is the attempt to burn, set fire to or destroy by explosive or incendiary device any property valued at $50 or more.Penalties for Arson
The penalties for arson in Oklahoma are broken down as follows:
First degree: fine of up to $25,000 and up to 35 years in prison
Second degree: fine of up to $20,000 and up to 25 years in prison
Third degree: fine of up to $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison
Fourth degree: fine of up to $5,000 and up to 10 years imprisonment
Contact an Oklahoma City criminal defense attorney at The Lowe Law Firm to discuss your case and learn more about how we can help you. Call (405) 232-8500.
Our Office is Conveniently Located
Across the Street from the Courthouse
In Oklahoma City, Tulsa and Lawton
Why Choose the Lowe Law Firm?
- History of Success
- Always Accessible
- Decades of Experience
- Free Initial Consultations
- Flexible Payment Plans
- Conveniently Located